8-10 September 2017
An annual celebration of South Australian established and
emerging artists

Loreto College, 316 Portrush Road
Marryatville, South Australia

Exhibition Times
Friday 8 September
Preview only, no sales 12noon-4.00pm

Opening Night Cocktail Party
Entry ticket required 7.00-10.00pm

Weekend Exhibition Times
Saturday 9 & Sunday 10 September
10.30am – 4.30pm
Gold coin donation

Star Portrait Sitting
Saturday 9 September 2pm

Feature Artist Morgan Allender
Image: Morning

Opening Night Cocktail Party
Friday 8 September 7pm

Created 33 years ago, the annual Loreto springART Exhibition has become one of South Australia’s most high profile local art events. More than 2000 people come to view the exhibition over the three days, with around 700 people flooding through the doors on opening night alone.

It is a calendar highlight for many South Australians who love art; spread over three days to mark the beginning of spring. This year, the event will be held from Friday 8 September to Sunday 10 September and we invite you to join the celebration!

Exhibition Times
Friday 8 September
Preview only, no sales 12noon-4.00pm

Opening Night Cocktail Party
Entry ticket required 7.00-10.00pm

Weekend Exhibition Times
Saturday 9 & Sunday 10 September
10.30am – 4.30pm
Gold coin donation

Star Portrait Sitting
Saturday 9 September 2pm

Feature Artist Morgan Allender
Image: Morning

Feature Artist

Morgan-Allender

Morgan Allender

Morgan is a contemporary painter based in the Adelaide Hills,  South Australia. Profiled by Vogue Living Magazine (“Next Generation”, September 2013) as “one of today’s brightest crop of design and art talent”, she works primarily within a framework of large-scale, gestural paintings.

Her work reflects an ongoing exploration of the parallels between the materiality of oil paint and the chaotic elements of the natural world. Drawing on a multitude of sources, including botanical symbolism, ecology, talismans, herbalism, and the landscape genre, she is most interested in the spiritual and psychological interaction between people and plants, as well as long-standing gender associations with women, flowers and plant magic.

Graduating from Adelaide Central School of Art in 2004, Morgan has exhibited regularly in solo and group exhibitions in Melbourne and Adelaide. In 2015 she received the Country Arts Breaking Ground Award. In 2011 she founded the internationally acclaimed Tenth Meadow Studio, expanding her artistic projects to include large-scale botanical installations for exhibition and private events.

Her work is held in the Artbank collection and private collections in Australia, USA, Japan and Italy.

.

Emerging Artist

Jane Skeer

Jane completed her Bachelor of Visual Art (Hons) with First Class Honours at Adelaide Central School of Art in 2015.

Her work, Quiet Square, was selected for the Perth Institute of Contemporary Arts Hatched: National Graduate Show in 2016.

Skeer won the Hill Smith Gallery/Helpmann Academy Friends Award and the Watsons’ People’s Choice Award at the Helpmann Academy 2016 Graduate Show. Jane works predominantly in sculpture and installation, responding to observations of people, objects and materiality. She seeks to prove that the unwanted is in fact useful and that it might prompt us to rethink our relationship with it.

Jane is the 2017 Adelaide Festival Centre/SALA Artist in Residence for DreamBIG Children’s Festival and SALA Festival. This work can be viewed in and around Adelaide Festival Centre from 18 – 27 May and SALA Festival from 1 – 31 August. Jane currently occupies a studio space, newly named Sister Gallery, at Fontanelle Gallery & Studios.

Jane-Skeer

Aboriginal Art

Ceduna-Waters

Arts Ceduna

Situated at the Ceduna Arts and Culture Centre (CAACC), Arts Ceduna sells artwork on behalf of at least 136 artists in the Far West region of South Australia. Established in July 2001, the development of this business has been a great achievement for the Aboriginal community in Ceduna and the Far West, providing economic and artistic development opportunities to artists in Oak Valley, Yalata, Scotdesco and Koonibba.

Artists from the Far West Coast of South Australia are strongly influenced by their environment with strong connections to Country. To the west of Ceduna, the vast plains of the Nullabor inspire artists’ work, while the area north of Ceduna boasts the largest untouched virgin mallee and spinifex country, to the south the pristine waters of the Great Australian Bight and to the east, ancient rock formations such as the Gawler Ranges. This diverse cultural environment of land, sea and desert is reflected strongly in the work of the artists.

The Star Portrait

Every year, 3 Adelaide artists are invited to take part in the popular Star Portrait competition to capture the likeness of a prominent South Australian. This year, our Star Portrait subject is Australian Marathon Runner Jess Trengove. Join in the fun on Saturday 9 September at 2.00pm for the unveiling and find out which portrait Jess chooses as her favourite

Star Portrait Artists

Paloma-ElleryPaloma Ellery

Paloma is a Loreto Old Scholar and is currently studying visual arts at the University of South Australia and is inspired by concepts of freedom, peace, and spirituality combined with poems, music and photography.

Datsun-TranDatsun Tran

Datsun’s artwork explores the human story – themes of conflict, utopia and personal identity. He has exhibited all over Australia, North America, Asia and Europe. Datsun has had over 25 solo and group shows, exhibited in over 30 art fairs, and has been a finalist in over 20 art prizes.

Janine-DelloJanine Dello

Janine is an Adelaide-based artist, primarily working with oil paints on canvas. Her work is figurative exploring ideas of identity, belonging and perceived beauty. She is inspired by a diverse variety of contemporary culture mediums, digital media, film, music, poetry and her surroundings. Her aim is to reflect contemporary concerns and our perception of ‘normal’.

The Star Portrait for 2017

Jess-Trengrove

Jess Trengrove

Jess is an Australian Marathon runner and has represented Australia at the 2012 London Olympics and 2016 Rio de Janeiro Olympics. At the 2014 Commonwealth Games, she won the bronze medal, running a then personal best of 2:30:12.

Jess’ passion for athletics was ignited almost two decades earlier in her hometown of Naracoorte in South East of South Australia. A keen sportswoman, Jess was always involved in athletics, however it wasn’t until her early twenties that she truly rose to prominence.

She ran her first marathon in March 2012 in Nagoya, Japan, where she set an Olympic A-Qualifying time of 2 hours, 31 minutes. She was the third South Australian athletics competitor to qualify for the Games, and prepared for them by training in Adelaide. She finished the London Olympic marathon in 39th place with a time of 2:31:17.

When she is not pounding the pavement Jess works as a Physiotherapist and champions a healthy lifestyle through her ambassador roles with BUPA and the Adelaide Eye and Laser Clinic.

In 2016, Trengove won the People’s Choice Award at the Advertiser / Channel 7 Sport Star of the Year awards.

Participating Artists

Inta Alander
Morgan Allender: www.morganallender.com
Pam Altschwager: pamalt@bigpond.com
David Archer: www.archersarcadia.com
Judith Archer: juditharcher@internode.on.net
Isabella Arlotta: www.instagram.com/arlotta_strokes
JA Arnott
Mike Barr: theartofbarr@iprimus.com.au
Cathie Beckwith: cathy-lb@bigpond.net.au
Sue Boettcher: www.sueboettcher.com.au
Bill Botten: billbotten@outlook.com
Judith Brown: j.e.brown@bigpond.com
Rubi Cassidy: rubicassidy.com
Donavan Christie: www.donovanchristie.com
Sum Woon Chow: swchow@internode.on.net  sumwoon.wordpress.com
David Cronin
Janine Dello: janinedello@bigpond.com
Christo Delport: www.facebook.com/Christo-Delport
Antonia Ditroia: www.instagram.com/antoniaditroia
Melissa Duncan: www.instagram.com/mogsdesigns
James Edwards: jam.ed@artlover.com
Paloma Ellery: palomaellery123@gmial.com
Lissy Elliot: www.facebook.com/LissyElliotCreations
Catherine Fitz-Gerald: catherinefitz-gerald.com
Alexis Fontino: www.facebook.com/fontino.oilpaintings
Karen Genoff: www.karengenoff.com.au
Jonathon George: jonny-george@hotmail.com
Colette Gray
Emma Hack: www.emmahackartist.com
Sally Heinrich: www.facebook.com/sallyheinrich
Elisabeth Howlett: howlett@internode.on.net      www.elisabethhowlett.com.au
Sharyn Ingham
Rhiannon Jones: www.rhiannonjonesartist.com
Sherrie Jones: www.artsceduna.com.au
Ellie Kammer: www.elliekammer.com
Glenn Kestell: glennkestell@gmail.com
Seiran Kitchener
John Lacey: laceyjla@internode.on.net
Janice Lane
Greta Laundy: lauest@bigpond.net.au www.facebook.com/GreatLaundyArtist
Josephine Lennon
Elise Leslie-Allen: www.instagram.com/elise-leslie-allen
LissyImages: lissyimages@gmail.com www.facebook.com/lissyimages
Heather Little: heather_little1@hotmail.com www.facebook.com/heatherlittlecontemporaryart
Lisa Losada

Elma Lawrie: www.artsceduna.com.au
Verna Lawrie: www.artsceduna.com.au
Alison Main: almain@internode.on.net
Sarah Maiorano: www.instagram.com/sarah_mai_art
Jane Mant: www.instagram.com/jane.mant
Mariana Mezic: www.instagram.com/marianamezic_artist
Sarah McDonald: studio@s-mac.com
Harriet McKay: harrietmckay2@gmail.com
Catriona McKenzie
Sarah Moller: sjmoller@outlook.com
Maggie Moy: maggie.moy@adam.com.au
Malkah Muckenschnabi
Jamie Newchurch: www.artsceduna.com.au
Henry Noel
Mary Nolan
Tom O’Callaghan: www.tomocallaghan.com.au
Rebecca Paech
Sonali Patel: sonalipatel@bigpond.com
Joanna Poulson: info@joannapoulson.com.au
Jane Price: www.janeprice.com.au
Ian Primett: www.instagram.com/primettart
Kelly Reynolds: kellyreynoldsart@gmail.com      www.kelly-reynolds.com
Lucy Reynolds: lucy.reynolds555@gmail.com
Pauline Richards: prichards@adam.com.au
Larissa Rogacheva: www.instagram.com/LaRogArt
Victoria Rolinski: victoriarolinski@hotmail.com
Tricia Ross: www.instagram.com/triciaross
Tiffany Rysdale: www.tiffanyrysdale.com
Margie Sheppard: www.margiesheppard.com
Jane Skeer: janeskeer.squarespace.com
Jane Smeets: smeetsjane@gmail.com
Henry Stentiford: www.henrystentiford.com
Cassie Thring: www.cassiethring.com
Dan Tompkins: info@dantomkins.com www.dantomkins.com
Datsun Tran: www.datsuntran.com
Christine Tschuna: www.artsceduna.com.au
Sonya Unwin: www.sonyaunwin.com.au
Louise Vadasz: www.louievadasz.com
Ann Wagner
Clancy Warner: clancy@clancywarner.com www.clancywarner.com
Rosemary White: rosewhite@drjmeegan.com.au
Paul Whitehead: www.paulwhiteheadartist.com
Emma Young: emmayoungglass@gmail.com
Holly Younger: www.instagram.com/hollyyoungerart