6-8 September 2019
An annual celebration of South Australian established and emerging artists

Loreto College, 316 Portrush Road
Marryatville, South Australia

Exhibition Times

Preview
Thursday 5 September
Sales available 6pm-7.30pm

Friday 6 September
Opening Night Cocktail Party
Entry ticket required 7.00-10.00pm

Weekend Exhibition Times
Saturday 7 & Sunday 8 September
10.30am – 4.30pm
Gold coin donation

Star Portrait Sitting
Saturday 7 September 2.00pm

Live Painting
Sunday 8 September 11.00am

Feature Artist Tsering Hannaford

Opening Night Cocktail Party
Friday 6 September 7.00pm

The annual Loreto springART Exhibition has become one of South Australia’s most high profile local art events. More than 2000 people come to view the exhibition over the three days, with around 700 people flooding through the doors on opening night alone.

It is a calendar highlight for many South Australians who love art; spread over three days to mark the beginning of spring. This year, the event will be held from Friday 6 September to Sunday 8 September and we invite you to join the celebration!

Exhibition Times

Preview
Thursday 5 September
Sales available 6pm-7.30pm

Friday 6 September
Opening Night Cocktail Party
Entry ticket required 7.00-10.00pm

Weekend Exhibition Times
Saturday 7 & Sunday 8 September
10.30am – 4.30pm
Gold coin donation

Star Portrait Sitting
Saturday 7 September 2.00pm

Live Painting
Sunday 8 September 11.00am

Feature Artist Tsering Hannaford

Feature Artist

Tsering Hannaford

Tsering Hannaford is a realist painter based in Adelaide, South Australia.
She is predominantly self-taught, having refined her skills at The Art Students’ League of New York, Grand Central Atelier and Studio Escalier, France.

Portraiture is a focus of her practice and she has been hung four times in the Archibald Prize. In 2014 she was highly commended for the Portia Geach Memorial Award and she has been a semi-finalist in the Doug Moran National Portrait Prize.

Tsering’s still life paintings explore themes of impermanence and renewal.

“My greatest ambition in my work is to allow the viewer to feel like they could be standing right there in the room with me- experiencing the same delicate light, the mood, the stillness. In this way I feel I can draw attention to the quiet beauty found in everyday life.”

Emerging Artist

Kellie Fergusson

Kellie Fergusson was born in Australia in 1973, gaining a Bachelor in Design, specialising in illustration at The University of South Australia in 1993.

Working as an illustrator for some 13 years, Kellie then opened Studio Eleven, an art school in Prospect where she taught and exhibited for nearly 10 years. She recently closed the doors to focus her attention and new found passion for printmaking.

Expressing her love of nature through experimental layering of colour and form, Kellie’s technique is time consuming and achingly precise as she searches for a way to create familiarity to the viewer, each piece hanging off the horizon line, restful yet fluid, Kellie’s current works celebrate the changing seasons of the Adelaide Hills and Fleurieu Peninsula.

Aboriginal Art

Helen Johnson – Aboriginal Art Consultant

One of the few specialist Aboriginal Art Consultants in South Australia, Helen sources art works ethically, direct from remote Australian art centres. She is committed to fair and transparent business dealings with Aboriginal artists.

Aboriginal Artists represented are both established and emerging. Their paintings evoke the strength of culture through connection to country and depict landscape, flora and fauna and of course Dreamtime Stories of creation.

Helen Johnson has lived and worked on the APY Lands from 2004 to 2013 as Art Centre Manager Iwantja Arts Indulkana.

Kiri Kiri Gallery sources art works ethically, direct from remote Australian art centres, a commitment to fair and transparent business dealings with Aboriginal artists. Aboriginal Artists represented are both established and emerging. Their paintings evoke the strength of culture through connection to country and depict landscape, flora and fauna and of course Dreamtime Stories of creation.

Helen Johnson, the owner of Kiri Kiri Art lived and worked on the APY Lands from 2004 to 2013 as Art Centre Manager Iwantja Arts Indulkana.

Live Painting

Immerse yourself in a live painting experience by Mike & Tina Barr.

Mike continues to fathom the mystery of rain drenched streets and the effects of light both subdued and the glaring electric light of both cars and traffic lights, whilst Tina continues to draw in viewers as they participate in the illusion of impressionism.

Painting will commence in the main exhibition area from 11.00am on Sunday 8 September, with all finished artworks available for purchase.

The Star Portrait

Every year, 3 Adelaide artists are invited to take part in the popular Star Portrait competition to capture the likeness of a prominent South Australian. This year, our Star Portrait subject is retired politician and ex-Leader of the House of Representatives Christopher Pyne. Join in the fun on Saturday 7 September at 2.00pm for the unveiling and find out which portrait Christopher chooses as his favourite.

Star Portrait Artists

Hugh Adamson

Hugh was born in Goroke, Victoria but has lived in Adelaide for nearly 60 years. He was a secondary school art teacher for 15 years at various high schools around South Australia but felt that he would rather be making the art not just teaching it. He resumed painting in 2005 and his works show changes in technique and style as he searches for the direction that the art is showing him. Recent paintings show a vibrancy in colour in an effort to capture something of the mood of the moment represented.

Philip David

Philip has been practising as a full-time artist since 2014, concentrating on portraits and experimenting with ways of portraying people’s lives, their character and personality. Philip goes through stages of Realism, Expressionism and Abstraction. He loves to paint in oils and often uses mixed media. He feels that a painting should make you (the viewer) think and feel an emotional response as well serve the purpose of decorating the wall space.

Jessica Zoethout

Jessica has an obsession with faces. Studying at the Adelaide College of the Arts, and attending Summer Studios at the the Rob Gutteridge School of Classical Realism, she has developed a foundation of traditional techniques and a rigorous approach to art making. Primarily working from life using oil paint, Jessica aims for interactions between artist, subject and environment to enrich the painting process or influence self portraiture. Through this she attempts to convey a sense of personal exploration and commentary on societal issues through her work.

The Star Portrait for 2019

Christopher Pyne

Christopher Pyne was elected to the House of Representatives for the seat of Sturt from 1993 to 2019.

Christopher has been a Minister in the Howard, Abbott and Turnbull Governments serving as Minister for Ageing; Minister for Education and Training, Minister for Industry Innovation and Science; Minister for Defence Industry and Minister for Defence. He was Leader of the House
of Representatives.

In his time as a Minister he has been responsible for delivering the $200 billion build up of Australia’s military capability, the largest in our peacetime history. He created the National Innovation and Science Agenda. Christopher was also responsible for reforming the National Curriculum, introduced compulsory literacy and numeracy testing for Australian teaching graduates and expanded phonics teaching methods. In 2006 he founded “headspace: the Youth Mental Health Initiative”.

Participating Artists

Hugh Adamson www.hughadamson.com.au
Inta Alander
Pamela Altschwager www.instagram.com/pamela_altschwager_art
Lissyimages artists www.instagram.com/lissyimages
Deborah Baldassi www.instagram.com/paintandpurl
Joshua Baldwin www.joshbaldwinart.com
Susan Balnaves www.instagram.com/su_su_loves_tribe
Mike Barr www.mikebarrfineart.com
Tina Barr www.bluethumb.com.au/tina-barr
Siena Belperio www.instagram.com/sienartworks
Tiana Belperio www.instagram.com/somethingbytiana
Kari Bienert www.karibienert.com
Bill Botten www.Billbottenhongkong.com
Judith Brown www.judithbrown.com.au
Rubi Cassidy www.rubicassidy.com
Sally Caston www.caston.com.au
Sum Woon Chow www.sumwoon.wordpress.com
Donovan Christie www.donovanchristie.com
Meg Cowell www.megcowell.net
Melanie Crawford www.melaniecrawford.com.au
Philip David www.philipdavidart.com.au
Janine Dello www.janinedello.com
Christo Delport www.christodelportart.com
Colleen Duffy
Melissa Duncan www.instagram.com/mogsdesigns
Sylvia Eakins
Trixie Emery
Kellie Fergusson www.facebook.com/kelliefergusson.artist
Catherine Fitz-Gerald www.catherinefitz-gerald.com
Anna Foley www.instagram.com/annabfoley_
Alexis Fontino www.facebook.com/fontino.oilpaintings
Jenny Gathard www.Gallery247.com
Quentin Gore www.quentingore.com.au
Cathy Gray www.cathygrayinkwork.com.au
Clinton Habib www.instagram.com/clinthabib
Monica Hall www.instagram.com/monicahall_artworks
Tsering Hannaford www.tseringhannaford.com.au
Helene Hardy www.helenehardyart.com
Barbara Harkness
Jade Harland www.jadeharland.com
Patrick Heath www.instagram.com/patrickheath.art
Brenton Hill
Steven Hill www.users.on.net/~sahill
Grace Hogg www.instagram.com/grace_hogg_art
Richard John www.instagram.com/Richard John Art
Caroline Johnson www.carolinejohnsonartist.com
Mark Judd www.markjudd.net
Greg Judd www.gregjuddart.com
Ellie Kammer www.elliekammer.com

Tom Keukenmeester www.tomkeukenmeester.com
Ursula Kiessling
John Lacey www.johnlacey.com.au
Annabel Lapsys www.instagram.com/annabel.lapsys.artist
Greta Laundy www.gretalaundyart.com
Elise Leslie-Allen
Simone Lettice www.simonelettice.com.au
Heather Little www.instagram.com/heatherlittlecontemporaryart
Jane Mant www.instagram.com/jane.mant.art
Mary Ann Santin www.maryannsantin.com
Naomi McCann www.naomimccann.com
Sarah McDonald www.s-mac.com
Kent McDonald www.instagram.com/kentmcd.art
Christopher Meadows www.studiomeadows.com
Monika Morgenstern www.monikamorgenstern.com
Jenni Mumford www.saatchiart.com/jennimumford
Kristian T Mumford www.kristianmumford.com
Josephine Newton www.facebook.com/naturalorderartworks/
Sue Ninham www.sueninham.com
Ellie Noir www.ellienoir.com
John Nowland www.instagram.com/John Nowland
Reilly O’Loughlin www.instagram.com/reillyoloughlin
Tim O’Shea www.tim-oshea-art.com
Kels O’Sullivan www.kelsosullivan.com.au
Andrew Parish www.alchemyironworks.com.au
Sonali Patel www.instagram.com/sonali_art_view
Eliza Piro www.elizapiro.com
Joanna Poulson www.joannapoulson.com.au
Jane Price www.janeprice.com.au
Ian Primett www.facebook.com/Primett Art
Pauline Richards
Judith Rolevink www.jrolevinksculptor.com.au
Victoria Rolinski www.instagram.com/victoria_rolinski
Jane Ruggiero www.janeruggiero.com
Katie Sandison www.instagram.com/Ktydesigns
Margie Sheppard www.margiesheppard.com
Jane Skeer www.janeskeer.squarespace.com
Jennyfer Stratman www.stratmanstudio.com
Caroline Taylor www.instagram.com/carolinejltaylor
Minnie Taylor www.instagram.com/minnieseyes
Alice Tilley www.alicetilley.com.au
Dan Tomkins www.dantomkins.com
Margaret Tuckey www.instagram.com/margtuckey90
Sonya Unwin www.instagram.com/sonyaunwin
Ava Viscariello www.instagram.com/a.x.v__art
Ann Wagner
Chris Wake www.artgalleryadelaide.com.au/about
Elizabeth Wojciak www.elizabethwojciak@bluethumb.com
Emma Young www.emmayoungglass.com.au